Broward County School Board Re-elects Chair and Vice Chair

On Tuesday, November 14, 2023, The School Board of Broward County, Florida re-elected Lori Alhadeff, District 4, as Chair, and Debra Hixon, Countywide At-Large, Seat 9, as Vice Chair. The nominations and election took place during the School Board’s annual Organizational Meeting.  

Chair Alhadeff has served on the School Board since 2018 and has previously served as Chair and Vice Chair. Vice Chair Hixon was first elected to the School Board in 2020 and previously served as Vice Chair. 

Other School Board members currently serving include Torey Alston, District 2; Brenda Fam, Esq., District 6; Daniel P. Foganholi, District 1; Dr. Jeff Holness, District 5; Sarah Leonardi, District 3; Nora Rupert, District 7; and Dr. Allen Zeman, Countywide At-Large, Seat 8.

For more information about the Broward County School Board, visit




“Educating all students to reach their highest potential.”  
Broward County Public Schools (BCPS) is the sixth-largest school district in the nation and the second largest in the state of Florida. BCPS is Florida’s first fully accredited school system since 1962, serving more than 251,000 students and approximately 110,000 adult learners in 239 schools, centers and technical colleges, and 87 charter schools. BCPS supports a diverse student population representing 177 different countries and speaking 153 languages. To connect with BCPS, visit, follow us on Twitter @browardschools, on Facebook at, on Instagram @browardschoolsofficial, on YouTube at and download the free BCPS mobile app at